Search site

Become an AOP member

More details

Aop awards2020

AOP opens for entries for its annual Digital Publishing Awards

Published: 23 Jan 2020

London, UK, 23 January 2020: The Association for Online Publishing has today announced that its Digital Publishing Awards are now open for entry, hosted in partnership with PubMatic, the automation solutions company. 

The Awards set the standard for editorial, commercial, partnership and publishing excellence, with the deadline for this year’s entries falling on 19th March 2020. The winners will be announced at the AOP Awards dinner, on 17th June 2020 at Old Billingsgate, London. 

Now in their 18th year, the annual Awards recognise true enterprise and innovation from publishers, advertisers, agencies, and suppliers alike. There are 26 categories for 2020, including the introduction of two new categories, Best Podcast Strategy which recognises the phenomenal growth of podcasts, and Best Diversification of Commercial Strategy which identifies innovative, effective models based on driving subscription growth, membership models, live events, or ecommerce ventures. All categories are open to members and non-members of the AOP. 

Entries will be judged by a panel of experts representing all corners of the industry and will include, Jenna Rak, Head of Audience Growth at Condé Nast; Lara Izlan, Advertising Data & Analytics Director at ITV; Caroline Mastromauro, Digital Investment Manager at Zenith; Andy Roughton, Managing Director at Business Because; and Stephen Wilson-Beales, Head of Editorial at Global. 

“The digital publishing landscape is ever-changing so it’s important we take time to recognise those who have surpassed expectations, and produced quality digital content. The industry continues to evolve and in acknowledgment of this we have introduced the Diversification of Commercial Strategy category to celebrate the new ways publishers are building non-advertising revenue”, said Richard Reeves, Managing Director at AOP. “The Digital Publishing Awards provide a great opportunity for publishers to highlight how they are successfully addressing the challenging issues within the industry, and how they can provide innovative solutions to pave the way to a safer and cleaner digital publishing ecosystem”. 

"PubMatic is once again proud to be the headline sponsor of the AOP Digital Publishing Awards, an event that acknowledges the achievements of companies and individuals in the digital publishing sector,” commented Emma Newman, EMEA, CRO at PubMatic. “We are honoured to be involved in such a well renowned event, and look forward once again to celebrating the innovative and creative work produced over the last year." 

The full list of categories is as follows: 

Editorial Excellence


Partnerships Excellence


Commercial Excellence


Publishing Excellence


Grand Prix

Entries should be made online and can be entered here.


For more information visit


AOP Press Contact

Toby Silk, GingerMay PR


Tel: +44 (0) 203 642 1124




Categories:  AOP News | Awards News