Search site

Become an AOP member

More details

Aop awards2020

AOP Announces Winners for the Digital Publishing Awards 2020

Published: 15 Oct 2020

London, UK, 16th October 2020 – The Association for Online Publishing (AOP) showcased the digital publishing industry’s top talent in the virtual debut of its prestigious annual awards ceremony. 

The flagship event, organised in partnership with PubMatic, and hosted by comedian and Mash Report star Ellie Taylor, moved to an online platform for the first time in its 18 year history. Accompanied by the AOP Awards House Band, the industry’s most renowned annual celebration recognised the successes of individuals, publishers, advertisers, agencies and suppliers who set the highest standard for digital publishing excellence. 

“We always enjoy bringing the digital publishing industry together in celebration of its ongoing innovation and talent,” commented Richard Reeves, Managing Director at AOP. “The Digital Publishing Awards commemorate the brilliance of those who define our industry. As the evolution of the media landscape continues to bring new challenges and opportunities in what has been a difficult year, it is important not to lose sight of the achievements the industry has made. Our awards help to acknowledge those who have set the benchmark for quality digital content, through their in-depth knowledge, acumen and ingenuity. 

“This year’s awards also mark the launch of The Finalist’s Guide to Digital Excellence video series, where our highly acclaimed finalists share their insights and experience to help inspire the digital publishing sector.” 

Emma Newman, CRO EMEA at PubMatic commented: “The AOP Digital Publishing Awards celebrate the very best in digital publishing and we’re pleased to be able to support the event once again. With categories covering all aspects of the delivery of engaging and innovation digital content, the winners have demonstrated an extensive understanding of their audiences.” 

The awards saw the Best Online Brand: Consumer accolade go to Readly, while Open Library for Humanities received the award for Small Digital Publisher of the Year, with both winners representing the introduction of different publishing models. 

The full list of winners is as follows: 

Editorial Excellence


Partnerships Excellence


Commercial Excellence


Publishing Excellence


Grand Prix


Additional details on the AOP Digital Publishing Awards 2020 can be found at


About the Association for Online Publishing

The Association for Online Publishing (AOP) is an industry body representing digital publishing companies that create original, branded, quality content. AOP champions the interests of media owners from diverse backgrounds including newspaper and magazine publishing, TV and radio broadcasting, and pure online media.  For more information, please visit

Categories:  AOP News | Awards News