AOP Ceremony 23

AOP Announces Winners of the Digital Publishing Awards 2023

Published: 15 Jun 2023

London, UK, 15th June 2023 The Association of Online Publishers (AOP) celebrated its 21st Awards yesterday, honouring the digital publishing industry’s top talent at the in-person ceremony, held at Old Billingsgate in London.

AOP’s flagship event, organised in association with headline partner PubMatic, was hosted by comedian Catherine Bohart and recognised the individuals, teams and companies driving the impressive growth of the digital publishing sector. There were 27 category winners, including Ryan Uhl, Chief Brand Strategy Officer at Mail Metro Media, the first recipient of the newly created Bill Murray Award for Outstanding Contribution to Digital Publishing. In partnership with UKOM, and with the support of Haymarket Media Group, the new AOP Award honours the memory of Bill Murray, who passed away suddenly in February 2023.

Categories were judged by a panel of experts under the guidance of co-chairs, Hannah Barnett, Commercial Director, Digital Sales at Mail Metro Media, and Gideon Spanier, UK Editor-in-Chief at Campaign.

“The Digital Publishing Awards were, yet again, a brilliant night to celebrate the incredible people that make up our industry,” comments Richard Reeves, Managing Director at AOP. “This year awarded those who have gone above and beyond to deliver high-quality content in the ever-changing media landscape. I would like to personally congratulate all the inspiring winners who work hard to change the digital publishing industry for the better.”

Emma Newman, CRO, EMEA at PubMatic commented: “The 2023 Digital Publishing Awards were a brilliant example of why we continue to support the AOP. We were thrilled to help spotlight and celebrate the successes of our industry’s pioneers over the past year. A huge congratulations to the winners and everyone shortlisted.”

Among the other winners on the night was Tom Ravenscroft from Dezeen – who took home the prestigious Editor of the Year award for his strong vision to energise his team during a potentially difficult and challenging time for the business – and Wendell Steavenson from 1843 Magazine, who was awarded Journalist of the Year. This was for her fantastic investigative journalism, which has seen her put herself in the middle of dangerous situations to report the news and build the publication’s readership. Meanwhile, Ozone won Best Digital Publishing Innovation, impressing the jury with its Ozone Smart Bidstream product, an offering that is helping to power a more sustainable digital publishing industry.

The full list of winners is as follows:


Editor of the Year

Journalist of the Year

Rising Star

Sales Person of the Year

The AOP Award for Inspiring Local Journalism, sponsored by Google News Initiative


Advertising Operations Team of the Year

Audience Development Team of the Year, sponsored by UKOM

Editorial Team of the Year: B2B

Editorial Team of the Year: Consumer

Product Development Team of the Year

Sales Team of the Year


Best Creative Solutions Led / Content Marketing Campaign

Best Digital Publishing Innovation

Best Diversification of Commercial Strategy, sponsored by Google

Best Media Technology Partner

Best Publisher-led Social Good Initiative or Campaign, sponsored by Deloitte

Best Research / Insight Project

Best Use of Audio

Best Use of Data

Best Use of Video

The AOP Employer Excellence Award, sponsored by Lewis Silkin


Best Online Brand: B2B

Best Online Brand: Consumer

Small Digital Publisher of the Year

Best Digital B2B Publishing Company, sponsored by PubMatic

Best Digital Consumer Publishing Company, sponsored by PubMatic

The Bill Murray Award for Outstanding Contribution to Digital Publishing, in partnership with UKOM

Additional details on the AOP Digital Publishing Awards 2023 can be found here.


About the Association of Online Publishers

The Association of Online Publishers (AOP) is an industry body representing digital publishing companies that create original, branded, quality content. AOP champions the interests of media owners from diverse backgrounds including newspaper and magazine publishing, TV and radio broadcasting, and pure online media. For more information, please visit