AOP Finalist announcement

AOP announces shortlist for 2023 Digital Publishing Awards

Published: 26 Apr 2023

London, UK, 26th April 2023: The Association of Online Publishers (AOP) has today announced the shortlist for the 2023 Digital Publishing Awards. In association with headline partner, PubMatic, the awards celebrate the individuals and teams working to create, deliver, and monetise quality content online.

The awards programme champions talent across 27 categories, including the newly announced Bill Murray Award for Outstanding Contribution to Digital Publishing. The awards set the standard for editorial, commercial, partnership and publishing excellence, with entries judged by a panel of digital industry experts under the guidance of co-chairs Hannah Barnett, Commercial Director, Digital Sales at Mail Metro Media, and Gideon Spanier, UK Editor in Chief at Campaign. The winners will be announced at the AOP Awards ceremony on 14th June at Old Billingsgate, London.

“The 21st year of the Digital Publishing Awards has seen an exceptional array of submissions from new and returning entrants, across b2b, b2c, national and regional publishers”, said Richard Reeves, Managing Director at AOP. “I’m looking forward to celebrating in-person with all the hardworking individuals and teams that make up our exciting, ever-changing industry. Congratulations and good luck to all those shortlisted!”

Tim Willcox, RVP UK at PubMatic commented: “It’s a pleasure to be partnering with AOP once more to highlight and reward those driving positive change in the digital industry. In particular, we look forward to shining a spotlight on those publishers and tech vendors that are championing and prioritising responsible media practices. We all have a duty to promote more sustainable ways of working and we’re excited to celebrate the excellent work being carried out in our sector to help change society for the better."

The full list of finalists is as follows and can also be viewed online here.


Editor of the Year

Journalist of the Year

Rising Star

Sales Person of the Year

The AOP Award for Inspiring Local Journalism, sponsored by Google News Initiative


Advertising Operations Team of the Year

Audience Development Team of the Year, sponsored by UKOM

Editorial Team of the Year: B2B

Editorial Team of the Year: Consumer

Product Development Team of the Year

Sales Team of the Year


Best Creative Solutions Led / Content Marketing Campaign

Best Digital Publishing Innovation

Best Diversification of Commercial Strategy, sponsored by Google

Best Media Technology Partner

Best Publisher-led Social Good Initiative or Campaign, sponsored by Deloitte

Best Research / Insight Project

Best Use of Audio

Best Use of Data

Best Use of Video

The AOP Employer Excellence Award, sponsored by Lewis Silkin


Best Online Brand: B2B

Best Online Brand: Consumer

Small Digital Publisher of the Year

For more information visit:

About the Association of Online Publishers

The Association of Online Publishers (AOP) is an industry body representing digital publishing companies that create original, branded, quality content. AOP champions the interests of media owners from diverse backgrounds including newspaper and magazine publishing, TV and radio broadcasting, and pure online media. For more information, please visit