AOP21 PUB lockup pos

AOP announces shortlist for 2021 Digital Publishing Awards

Published: 10 Jun 2021

London, UK, 10th June 2021: The Association of Online Publishers (AOP) has today announced the shortlist for the 2021 Digital Publishing Awards – a celebration of best practice in innovative, creative, and profitable digital publishing.


The awards programme champions talent and excellence across 26 categories. Judged by a panel of digital industry leaders, under the guidance of co-chairs, Robin Shute, Operations Director of Incisive Media, and Hayley Cochrane, Head of Digital for Mail Metro Media, the winners will be announced during an afternoon ceremony on 16th September.


Now in its 19th year, the Digital Publishing Awards – in association with headline sponsor PubMatic – is celebrating those who have both adapted and thrived in the challenging conditions of the pandemic, while delivering first-class journalism, innovation, and all-round digital excellence. This year has seen a 37% increase in entries compared to 2020 across b2b, b2c, national and regional publishers, as well as from supporting teams including ad ops, sales and editorial.   


Richard Reeves, Managing Director at AOP comments: “I am blown away by the number of inspiring and innovative entries we received for the Digital Publishing Awards this year. In these trying times, the resilience and creativity of publishers has shone through and while there will be more hurdles for the industry to overcome, it’s important to stop for a moment to not only recognise and celebrate publisher brilliance, but also gain inspiration and learn from those who have demonstrated exceptional agility and determination”.


The full list of finalists is as follows and can also be viewed online here.




Editor of the Year


Journalist of the Year


Rising Star, sponsored by Lewis Silkin


Sales Person of the Year


The Local Hero Award, sponsored by Google News Initiative





Advertising Operations Team of the Year


Audience Development Team of the Year, sponsored by UKOM


Editorial Team of the Year: B2B


Editorial Team of the Year: Consumer


Product Development Team of the Year


Sales Team of the Year




Best Creative Solutions Led / Content Marketing Campaign, sponsored by Unruly


Best Digital Publishing Innovation, sponsored by Xandr


Best Diversification of Commercial Strategy, sponsored by Deloitte


Best Media Technology Partner


Best Publisher-led Social Good Initiative or Campaign


Best Research / Insight Project


Best Use of Audio


Best Use of Data, sponsored by LiveRamp


Best Use of Video, sponsored by Unruly


The AOP Employer Excellence Award




Best Online Brand: B2B


Best Online Brand: Consumer


Small Digital Publisher of the Year, sponsored by Google

The finalists for Digital Publishing Company of the Year B2B and Digital Publishing Company of the Year Consumer will be announced on 1 July. 

For more information visit:


About the Association of Online Publishers

The Association of Online Publishers (AOP) is an industry body representing digital publishing companies that create original, branded, quality content. AOP champions the interests of media owners from diverse backgrounds including newspaper and magazine publishing, TV and radio broadcasting, and pure online media. For more information, please visit


AOP Press Contact

Kerry Ritchie, GingerMay PR


Tel: +44 (0) 203 642 1124