AOP announces winners at Digital Publishing Awards 2017

Trinity Mirror, Immediate Media, and Dezeen among those celebrated at the renowned annual digital publishing awards. 

London, UK, 29th June 2017: The Association for Online Publishing (AOP) revealed the winners for its flagship annual awards at an exclusive ceremony last night to benchmark and champion excellence in online publishing.


Held in partnership with PubMatic – the automation solutions company for an open digital media industry – the awards are known for recognising true enterprise and innovation from publishers, advertisers, agencies, and suppliers. The awards were judged by a panel of industry experts including digital publishing specialists, media agency leaders, and advertisers.


The results were announced at a prestigious ceremony at Old Billingsgate, London, which saw winners across a range of categories such as Best Digital Publishing Launch, Digital Editor / Content Strategist of the Year, Digital Advertising Operations Team of the Year, and Best Commercial Partnership.


“The industry has had to face some challenging issues in the last few years, yet our members maintain their roles as creators of original, premium content – which, in a world where everyone publishes an opinion, is more important today than it ever has been,” commented Richard Reeves, Managing Director at the AOP. “The winners and finalists have shown a deep understanding of their audiences and the tools needed to engage users in the most brand-safe, premium environments.”


The award for Digital Publisher of the Year – Business to Business was scooped by Incisive Media for the second year running and Digital Publisher of the Year – Consumer was picked up by Immediate Media. The award for Best Digital Publishing Launch went to HSJ Solutions and Best Use of Video was awarded to Dezeen.


The full lists of winners are as follows:


Editorial Excellence

  • Digital Journalist / Content Producer of the Year:
    • Winner: Zahra Mulroy, Trinity Mirror
    • Highly Commended: Jack Moore, Newsweek
  • Digital Editor / Content Strategist of the Year:
    • Winner: Christian Broughton, The Independent, entered by ESI Media
    • Highly Commended: Alastair McLellan, HSJ, entered by Wilmington Healthcare
  • Digital Editor / Content Development Team of the Year, B2B:
    • Winner: Dezeen
    • Highly Commended: HSJ, entered by Wilmington Healthcare
  • Digital Editorial / Content Development Team of the Year, Consumer:
    • Winner: &, entered by Dennis Publishing

Partnerships Excellence

  • Best Commercial Partnership:
    • Winner: Helping Kia Achieve their Euro 2016 Goals, entered by The Telegraph
    • Highly Commended: Respect the Water, entered by RNLI and The LADbible Group
  • Best Media Tech Partner:
    • Winner: Online Classroom, entered by Centaur Media & MMT Digital
  • Best Native Advertising Campaign:
    • Winner: Michelin Car Connections, entered by Oath
    • Highly Commended: Samsung Mobility Solutions Native Campaign, entered by Incisive Media


Commercial Excellence

  • Best Use of Data:
    • Winner: DAX & Haymarket’s Data Partnership, entered by Global
  • Digital Advertising Operations Team of the Year:
    • Winner: The Telegraph
    • Highly Commended: Unruly
  • Digital Sales Person of the Year:
    • Winner: Rebecca Reeve-Kendall, News UK
  • Digital Sales team of the Year:
    • Winner: Time Inc. UK
    • Highly Commended: ESI Digital Sales Team

Publishing Excellence

  • Audience Development Team of the Year:
    • Winner: Bauer Xcel
    • Highly Commended: Becky Lucas, British GQ
  • Best Digital Publishing Launch:
    • Winner: HSJ Solutions, entered by Wilmington Healthcare
  • Best Research and Insight Project:
    • Winner: Community Care, entered by RBI
  • Best Use of Mobile:
    • Winner: WSJ City by The Wall Street Journal
  • Best Use of Social Media:
    • Winner: The Independent and i100, entered by ESI Media
  • Best Use of Video:
    • Winner: Dezeen
  • Digital Design / Product Development Team of the Year:
    • Winner: Huffington Post UK Media Product Team


Grand Prix

  • Best Online Media Property or Brand, B2B:
    • Winner: HSJ, Wilmington Healthcare
    • Highly Commended: Campaign, Haymarket Publishing
  • Best Online Media Property or Brand, Consumer:
    • Winner:, entered by BBC Worldwide
  • Digital Publisher of the Year, B2B:
    • Winner: Incisive Media
  • Digital Publisher of the Year, Consumer:
    • Winner: Immediate Media


Further details about the AOP Digital Publishing Awards 2017 can be found at

Press contact:

Zoe Baptie, GingerMay PR


Tel: +44 (0) 203 642 1124

AOP Awards Dinner

Winners of the AOP Digital Publishing Awards will be announced at the AOP Awards Dinner on 27th June 2019, hosted at Old Billingsgate and promising to again be a fantastic night for celebrating the best in digital publishing. The dinner provides the perfect opportunity to host your clients and reward your team. As well as being there to be the first to hear who has won the coveted Awards, the evening promises excellent networking, good food and great entertainment.

Awards Categories

Take a look at this years categories - Entries now close on 28th March 2018! You will need to create your entry online – however, you will find it useful to download the Entry Template Form appropriate to each category you are entering.

In Partnership with


In Partnership with