The AOP announces 2017 Digital Publishing Awards shortlist

London, UK, 26th April 2017: The Association for Online Publishing (AOP) has today announced the shortlist for its 2017 Digital Publishing Awards, marking the countdown to one of the industry’s most anticipated events of the year.

London, UK, 26th April 2017: The Association for Online Publishing (AOP) has today announced the shortlist for its 2017 Digital Publishing Awards, marking the countdown to one of the industry’s most anticipated events of the year.


This year’s awards, organised in association with PubMatic, have attracted entries from across the industry – from specialist B2B brands, consumer titles and news media. They have been reviewed by a panel “of all talents” – including representatives from digital publishing specialists, media agency leaders and advertisers to ensure each award is judged on a holistic level.


Dilip Shukla, Head of Content Strategy, AOP, and chair of the judges, commented: “The AOP Awards’ entries consistently demonstrate innovation and ever higher standards. To see the entries is to know that Premium Publishers are in excellent health with a bright future. Events such as the Digital Publishing Awards are an opportunity to showcase and celebrate those who are breaking new ground and leading the way forward in the industry.”


The full list of finalists is as follows, and can also be viewed online here


Digital Journalist/Content Producer of the Year

  • Jamie Harris, BT
  • Shaun Lintern, EMAP
  • Jack Moore, International Business Times
  • Stephanie Jones-Berry, RCNi
  • Seb Joseph, The Drum
  • Oliver Bridgewood, Time Inc.
  • Zahra Mulroy, Trinity Mirror plc


Digital Editor/Content Strategist of the Year

  • Steve Walker, Site Editor, Dennis Publishing
  • Simon Brew, Dennis Publishing
  • Alastair McLellan, EMAP
  • Christian Broughton, Editor of the Independent, ESI Media
  • Evan Kypreos, Time Inc.
  • Nicola Oakley, Trinity Mirror plc


Editorial/Content Development Team of the Year: B2B

  • Dezeen
  • Team B2B - HSJ, EMAP
  • RCNi
  • The Drum
  • Chemist and Druggist, UBM


Digital Editorial/Content Development Team of the Year: Consumer

  • com, Dennis Publishing
  • and, Dennis Publishing
  • TrustedReviews Team, Time Inc.



Best Commercial Partner

  • Fiat Tipo brand partnership, Auto Trader
  • EA and Gamespot partnership: Launch of Battlefields 1, CBS Interactive
  • Age of Design, Centaur Media
  • Global & Airheads, Global
  • Lonely Planet & Samsung Best in Travel partnership 2017
  • Respect the Water, LADbible Group
  • The Telegraph helping Kia achieve their Euro 2016 goals


Best Native Advertising Campaign

  • Michelin Car Connections, AOL
  • Oracle HCM partnership campaign, Business Insider
  • Nissan ‘Think’, Haymarket
  • SEAT Ateca Launch, Haymarket
  • com Samsung Mobility Solutions native campaign, Incisive Media
  • Lonely Planet & Samsung Best in Travel partnership 2017

Best Media Technology Partner

  • Online Classroom, Centaur Media
  • Sailthru
  • Converting Ad Blockers to Monetisable Users, Sourcepoint & Dennis Publishing
  • SpotX
  • SSP: Built with publishers, for publishers, Tremor Video



Digital Sales Person of the Year

  • Adam Chorley, Condé Nast
  • Vikki Lands, Dennis Publishing
  • Finn Russell-Cobb, Dennis Publishing
  • Rebecca Reeve-Kendall, News UK


Digital Sales Team of the Year

  • British GQ, Condé Nast
  • HSJ Corporate Subscriptions, EMAP
  • ESI Digital Sales Team, ESI Media
  • Global Digital Sales Team, Global
  • The Bridge, News UK’s Commercial Division
  • Reuters EMEA, Thomson Reuters
  • Time Inc. UK


Digital Advertising Operations Team of the Year

  • Digital Ad Ops Team, Global
  • Leading the Way for Viewability, The Telegraph
  • Unruly Operations, Unruly Group


Best Use of Data

  • Project Synergy – Auto Trader Programmatic and Auto Trader Marketing Collaboration
  • DAX & Haymarket’s Data Partnership, Global
  • Secret Garden, Immediate Media
  • Tracking Energy Demand Trends, The Economist
  • AdReach, ZPG



Best Research / Insight Project

  • Dezeen Hot List, Dezeen
  • Community Care, RBI
  • Thought Leadership Disrupted, The Economist
  • Using Research to Establish the Optimal Subscription Pricing Strategy, Wall Street Journal & House of Kaizen


Best Use of Mobile

  • WSJ City by The Wall Street Journal, Dow Jones
  • Hacksaw Ridge, ESI Media


Best Use of Social Media

  • The Independent and i100, ESI Media
  • Climate Change, LADbible Group
  • Grazia, Bauer Xcel
  • Woman’s Own, Time Inc.


Best Use of Video

  • The Late Late Show, CBS Interactive
  • British GQ (Haig Club Partnership), Condé Nast
  • Dezeen
  • Heart & Planter’s Nuts, Global
  • GoodtoKnow, Time Inc.
  • VICE UK, Vice

Best Digital Publishing Launch

  • com, BT
  • The Lawyer Digital Subscription Launch, Centaur Media
  • Dezeen Hot List, Dezeen
  • HSJ Solutions, EMAP


Audience Development Team of the Year

  • Audience Development Team, Bauer Xcel
  • Becky Lucas, British GQ, Condé Nast
  • Audience Development Team, Dennis Publishing
  • Data Insight Team, Incisive Media
  • Understanding the Audience – the Digital Journey of a Legacy Publisher, DC Thomson


Digital Design / Product Development Team of the Year

  • Huffington Post UK Projects, AOL
  • Product Development Team, Dennis Publishing



Best Online Media Property or Brand: B2B

  • Dezeen
  • Campaign, Haymarket
  • net, Incisive Media
  • The Drum


Best Online Media Property or Brand: Consumer

  • British Vogue, Condé Nast
  • BuyaCar, Dennis Publishing
  •, Dennis Publishing
  •, Immediate Media
  • Readly, Readly UK


Digital Publisher of the Year: B2B

  • Campaign
  • Dezeen
  • Digiday
  • Incisive Media


Digital Publisher of the Year: Consumer

  • Dennis Publishing
  • Future PLC
  • Immediate Media


The winners will be announced at the must-attend AOP Digital Publishing Awards dinner on 28th June at its new Thames-side location, Old Billingsgate. Individual tickets and tables are available at

AOP Press Contact

Michelle Campbell, GingerMay PR


Tel: +44 (0) 203 642 1124

In Partnership with

Pubmatic logo